Winbeck "Finale" finally performed

Several years ago, it was announced that the German composer, Heinz Winbeck would be commissioned by the Brucknerhaus in Linz to write a form of completion to the Bruckner Symphony No. 9. The performance was scheduled several times but postponed. The most recent postponement was last fall when the work was now to be placed in front of a performance of the Ninth Symphony. It turned out that the work had evolved into a lengthy piece that would make the concert too long. So the premiere was scheduled for March of 2010 and on March 9th it was finally performed. As the work evolved, it became more of an independent composition (in three movements) and less of a postscript to the Symphony No. 9.

The work is entitled, Symphony No. 5 "Now and in the Hour of Death, three fragments using motives in particular the finale of the 9th Symphonie of Anton Bruckner."

Winbeck's use of themes is very subtle. There is no quotation of the great chorale and at the end there is a quotation from Strauss's "Blue Danube Waltz".

The three movements are:
-"Lord Stay with Us Because It Will Become evening
and the Day Ends"
-"Come Holy Spirit And Enflame"
-"Now And in the Hour of Death"

The performance timed in at around 55 minutes.