Newsletter: August 1, 2020

Newsletter: August 1, 2020
Welcome to the Newsletter from!

As of July 31st the Discography Database and the Bruckner Archive Database have been updated. The underlined headlines below will take you to the various sections of the website where the bullet points below are featured. Please use these as guides to the new information offered since the last newsletter.

Newsletter - August 1, 2020

Just as I began preparation of this newsletter, news of the death of Romanian conductor, Camil Marinescu has been announced. Tragically, he died at the age of 55 from COVID-19. Marinescu was a devoted Bruckner interpretor. The George Enescu Philharmonic Orchestra has just posted an "In Memoriam" performance of the Symphony No. 7 on YouTube.

Suddenly it seems to be open season for organ transcriptions of Bruckner Symphonies. The publication of Symphonies 1-9 has been announced by organist, Eberhard Klotz. Also, Oehms Classics has announced a cycle of Bruckner Symphony organ transcriptions (0-9). The first CD release is due out next month and the cycle will be completed in time for Bruckner's bicentennial in 2024. More information in "Latest News."

My ongoing project to identify Bruckner cycles that were never recorded or commercially released continues to be updated. Thanks to many contributors, the listing has grown substantially. You can look at the results here. If you know of any others, please let me know. Happily, one of the listed cycles (Hiroshi Wakasugi) will be removed soon, since this series of recordings is now being released on CD in Japan.


  • I will be ordering Bruckner scores in a few days. This will be the last order for the next six months. If you are interested, please click here.

  • There are dozens of downloads available to you in my Download of the Month Section. When that service was first offered many years ago, server storage was more limited than now, so many of those files were offered as .mp3 files. I can now offer these downloads as non-compressed .flac files. But instead of me making work for myself changing all of these files over, I would prefer to upgrade the ones that are important to you. If you would like one of my previous downloads to be upgraded to a lossless format, just send me an e-mail requesting the specific download(s) and I'll get to it quickly.

  • Many of you have ordered William Carragan's new book on the Bruckner Symphonies. I wanted to give you an update. The book has now gone to press after several revisions (remember, this is Bruckner!!). We will be shipping the books as soon as they are received. Thank you for your continued patience.

  • Subscribe to The Bruckner Journal. Online subscriptions are just $10.00/year!

  • CASH REWARD FOR WANTED RECORDINGS. Click here for details.


    • Bruckner conductor, Camil Marinescu dies of COVID-19.

    • Transcriptions for organ of Bruckner's symphonies now available.

    • Oehms announces an organ transcription CD cycle (0-9).

    • The 2020 Brucknerathon is cancelled.

    • BBC Music Magazine features a Bruckner CD (with an error).

    • Bruckner Journal Reader's Conference Scheduled for January, 2021 at Yale University.


    • The Bruckner Archive recording database (with over 10,350 listings) has been updated and it is easy to download as an Excel file. Many of these recordings are available to collectors and researchers. Contact me for details on how you can fill in some holes in your collection. The database can now also be sorted by performing date!


    • There are many subjects covered here and these are frequently updated, so make it a point to check out the various subjects under this heading.


    • Links to other Bruckner-related websites that might be of interest.



    • C Major / Unitel release Bernard Haitink's Farewell Salzburg Concert featuring Bruckner's Symphony No. 7. (DVD and Blu-Ray).


    • The Berlin Philharmonic offers a direct-to-disc LP of Bernard Haitink's recent performance of the Bruckner 7th.


    • Pentatone Classics releases a Bruckner Mass No. 2 in E Minor.

    • St. Laurent Studios offers their 78 RPM transfer of the Carl Schuricht Bruckner 7th from Berlin.

    • High Definition Tape Transfers offers their transfer of the DGG Jochum Bruckner 9th with the Berlin Philharmonic.

      JAPANESE RELEASES (Available for special order - Tower Records editions often available on Ebay.)

    • Altus Recordings releases a complete symphony cycle (1-9) featuring the late Hiroshi Wakasugi and the NHK Symphony Orchestra.

    • TOBU Records in Japan has released a Bruckner Archive set of Bruckner symphonies in arrangements for Jazz ensemble. The performances of Symphonies 5 and 7 were all recorded in Austria under the direction of Thomas Mandel.

    • Nice NF Classics has released a Bruckner 7th with Yoshinori Nishiwaki conducting Der Ring Tokyo Orchestra (Hybrid SACD)

    • Tower Records continues its series of re-releases with a SACD set of Symphonies 3-5,7, and 8 with Takashi Asahina conducting the New Japan Philharmonic.

    • Tower Records releases Volume I (Symphonies 1-3) with SACD re-releases of Eugen Jochum's DGG cycle.

    • The Osaka College Horn Ensemble releases a CD with a transcription for horns of Bruckner's Symphony No. 7.

    • Altus is releasing LPs of the Symphonies No. 8 and 9 by Carl Schuricht and the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra.

    • Tower Records has re-released Rudolf Kempe's Bruckner recordings of the Symphonies 4 and 5 with the Munich Philharmonic on SACD. One in stock!

    • TOBU Recordings has released the Bruckner Archives' recording of the Piano four-hand transcriptions of Bruckner's Symphonies 0-9 in a 10 CD boxed set.


    • Oehms Classics announces an organ transcription cycle (0-9) to be released between 2020 and 2024.

    • Organroxx will be releasing a recording of the Bruckner Symphony No. 9. The organist will be Thilo Muster.

    • Valery Gergiev and the Munich Philharmonic have completed the recording of their Bruckner video cycle with three live performances at St. Florian in September as part of the 2019 Brucknerfest. The cycle (1-9) will be released in a boxed set - with a documentary disc - this Fall. These video recordings were all made at St. Florian. The sets will be available in Blu-Ray and DVD formats.


    • DOWNLOAD OF THE MONTH. This month, we feature a performance of Bruckner's Symphony No. 6 performed by the Sudwestfalen Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Rolf Agap. It comes from along out-of-print CD issued by Ars Musica,


    • The web store focuses on Bruckner recordings that are not generally available. It is divided up into sections for CDs and DVDs, books and scores, downloads, bargain samples and collectibles. Be sure to check out each section for new items.

    • has entered into an agreement with the publisher of the MWV's Bruckner scores and publications. Order scores and critical reports from Click here for details. **** Next order deadline: August 5, 2020.


    • As stories in the LATEST NEWS section get older, those that are still relevant get moved into the FEATURES SECTION. There is a wealth of information here that you may have missed when they were first posted.


    • Essays in English and other languages are entered as they are discovered or accepted.

    • New graphics (over 1,100) are frequently added.

    PLEASE SUPPORT THIS SITE All the information provided on this site is available to you free-of-charge. But it is not free for me to get it to you. Recordings must be purchased as does the server space upon which this website is stored. We have provided two easy ways for you to support this venture. First is to purchase recordings in my web store and second is to make your regular purchases through my homepage web links to online retailers. Purchases will support the ongoing expenses of operating this website.

    Enjoy the website!

    John F. Berky