Gerd Schaller's Finale Completion to the Symphony No. 9 is published.

Gerd Schaller's Finale Completion to the Symphony No. 9 is published.
Gerd Schaller's Finale completion of Bruckner's Symphony No. 9 has been published in Germany. Here is the the Press release announcing the publication:

Gerd Schaller’s completion of the final movement of Anton Bruckner’s Ninth Symphony, published by Ries & Erler, Berlin

In 2016, the conductor Gerd Schaller first presented his expansion and completion of the final movement of Anton Bruckner’s Ninth Symphony. He followed up this practical exercise with a revision of that first version, and the revised edition is now available from long-established music publisher Ries & Erler, founded in Berlin in 1881.

Although Anton Bruckner’s Ninth Symphony was left incomplete, an outline of the fourth and final movement survives in the form of numerous sketches and drafts left by the composer at various stages of development. On the basis of these sources, intensive musicological research and his many years’ experience as a performer of Bruckner, Gerd Schaller has made this edition a musically coherent version of the final movement.

To this end, he carefully analysed Bruckner’s compositional techniques before taking an overall view of the surviving material, including the previously seldom perused early sketches, and on this basis he produced a concert version of the fourth movement, with the missing passages filled, as far as possible, with Bruckner’s original ideas. Schaller himself filled in the remaining musical gaps through his consistent and logical application of Anton Bruckner’s compositional techniques and with due regard to Bruckner’s late style. Schaller modified this initial version and went on to revise a few more details.

The revised score (120 pages) is prefaced with an extensive text (87 pages), presented in both German and English. The text includes a preface that sets out the background to this project, the reasons behind it, important analytical considerations, an overview of the formal structure of the final movement, a detailed analysis with references to numerous musical examples and harmonic devices, some information on the relevant sources and a list of materials consulted. These materials are clearly marked in the relevant parts of the score so as to document the development of this completion.

The score can be purchased and the performance materials hired from Ries & Erler.

Anton Bruckner, Symphony No. 9, 4th Movement
Supplemented from Original sources and Completed by Gerd Schaller
Revised Version 2018
Scoring: 3 Flutes, 3 Oboes, 3 Clarinets, 3 Bassons, 8 Horns (5–6 alternating with Tenor Tuba, 7–8 alternating with Bass Tuba), 3 Trumpets, 3 Trombones, 1 Contrabasstuba , Timpani, Strings.
Duration: approximate 25 Min.
© 2018 by Ries & Erler, Berlin
ISMN M-013-51487-8

The score can be purchased here.

The Preface to the score can be downloaded below.

Download: Schaller_B9_Finale_Score_Preface_RiesErler.pdf